10 Reasons Why I’m Grateful for my Dad

Today is Father’s Day.  I’m in Telluride, CO, where I’ve spent the weekend at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival with my dad.  We’ve come to the festival together off and on since I was a child – the last time being four years ago, before I got married and moved to Pittsburgh.  It’s usually on Father’s Day weekend, so I’m grateful for the chance to celebrate Father’s Day here with him again.  In fact, thinking about my gratitude for sharing Telluride with him inspired this list of other reasons why I’m grateful for my dad:

  1. I’m grateful for the love of good music that he gave me.  Not only have we come to Telluride numerous times together, but we’ve been lots of concerts together: Willie Nelson, Dave Matthews, James Taylor, Emmylou Harris.  On long drives when I was growing up, we always listened to Tom Petty together in the car.  He bought me my guitar and my mandolin. Thanks for the gift of music. 
  2. I’m grateful for my dad teaching me how to ski.  (He also taught me how to golf.  Given the infinite frustrations of golf, I’m a bit more grateful for skiing.)
  3. I’m grateful for the work ethic my dad instilled in me.  He works hard.  I learned to work hard from him. 
  4. I’m grateful for the example of financial stewardship that he is.  As a teenager, I whined and complained about the fact that I didn’t get the expensive clothes and shoes my friends did.  Now, I’m grateful – my dad’s reluctance to spend money frivolously imparted financial wisdom to me.
  5. I’m grateful for the education my dad gave me.  Yes, he paid for my college, but he also did a lot to make me value the education I received to. I’m grateful for the way provided for me in other ways, too.
  6. I’m grateful for the travels my dad has shared with me.  We used to spend my middle-school spring breaks driving throughout the southwest, visiting national parks like Bryce, Zion, the Grand Canyon, and Arches.  We also took a family trip to France.
  7. Along the same line, I’m grateful for the experiences of the outdoors that my dad gave me.  From fishing during summer weekends at our family’s cabin on Grand Mesa, to hikes and Jeep trips in the San Juans, my dad taught me to appreciate the beauty of creation.
  8. I’m grateful for the fact that he was at every school play, every basketball game, every show choir concert when I was growing up.
  9. I’m grateful for his personality.  The more I find myself turning into my dad, the less I mind.
  10. I’m grateful for the fact that he always said “Love ya” when dropping me off at school or ending a phone conversation.  I’ve only recently begun to realize how important that was.

Thanks Dad.  Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

