Presbymeme-5

Brian tagged me for the Presbymeme, so it’s now my turn.  Here are the rules: 
  1. In about 25 words each, answer the following five questions;
  2. Tag five Presbyterian bloggers and send them a note to let them know they were tagged;
  3. Be sure to link or send a trackback to this post  

My answers:

1. What is your earliest memory of being distinctly Presbyterian? When I was 8, my mom’s next door neighbors were very active Baptists.  I had a crush on the girl who lived next door, so I tried to talk her into coming to the Presbyterian church sometime.  She declined.

2. On what issue/question should the PC(USA) spend LESS energy and time? Our preoccupation with maintaining existing institutional structures, as evidenced in the New Wineskins property battles.  Sometimes you just have to let go.    

3. On what issue/question should the PC(USA) spend MORE energy and time? Mission in the context of post-Christendom America.  I was glad to see that Brian and Michael both wrote “New Church Development” here.  As one who aspires to be a church-planter, I agree.  But I want to broaden the scope because the PC(USA) also needs to transform stagnant existing congregations into missional congregations and to reunite evangelism and justice. 

4. If you could have the PC(USA) focus on one passage of scripture for an entire year, what would it be?  John 17. When I went to General Assembly in 2004 and returned home disgusted by the divisiveness I encountered, I preached on this passage for my home church.  Specifically, verses 20 and 21 are what are most important: “I ask not only on behalf of these, but also on behalf of those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one. As you, Father, are in me and I am in you, may they also be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me” (NRSV). The Church’s unity models the Trinity’s unity, which reaches beyond itself in sending and being sent.

5. If the PC(USA) were an animal what would it be and why?  A turtle – it’s slow and it has a defensive shell in which it hides its head from its context.

Tagged: Jan, John, RussellDerrick, and BJ, who was tagged by Bruce Reyes-Chow and still hasn’t answered the questions!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

